Cookies

We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

BVSC 'Get Active' Project Updates

The Good Exchange Grant award project reference 17592

'Supported by Sovereign Housing plus D&B Facades'

Basingstoke Voluntary Sports Council

Project Core Objectives

  1. Review the sharing of information and resources between organisations signed up to the SPAA
  2. Contact Local Sports Clubs to allow understanding their role in the SPAA ‘Get Active’ objectives 
  3. Establish a calendar of events/activities to encourage regular volunteering opportunities
  4. Encourage local groups to utilize ‘Join in’ and other similar Volunteering websites to encourage more participation in Volunteering, Coaching and Officiating to get people active with a focus on encouraging 16+ to stay active
  5. To develop and link BDBC/BVA/LSC websites to incorporate the Be Physically Active message to ensure increased awareness, establish a suitable agreed Facebook presence and awareness & Ensure Quarterly interaction with Gazette/Observer/Hampshire TV/Breeze/B&D Today 
  6. Signpost to National Initiatives, Campaigns and Major events to link to local Sport and Exercise and promote the existence of any opportunities locally for all residents to get physically active in addition to promoting active/healthy lifestyles working in partnership with external partners
  7. Focus on out of hours learning opportunities for Junior School Children (Extended school Programme) and after school clubs, Increase School/Club links and encourage increased participation in Inter School Games and general ‘get active’ activities
  8. Encourage increased participation across activity target groups ‘50+, Disabled, Disadvantaged etc’
  9. Explore small projects which can be delivered by members to encourage increased participation
  10. Review and promote the mix of opportunities for sport and physical activity across all facilities, Interact with Community Centres, Community Schools and Village Halls plus Community plans plus raise awareness of activities in the local Sport and Fitness Centres

> Update Report Q1 – March 25th 2021 to June 25th 2021 <

We initially commenced work on 'Basingstoke Get Active’ at the end of March 2021 just prior to funding being received in early April 2021 and have made good progress over the past three months. The project was discussed in depth at our full committee meeting with Senior Clubs and Sports on April 7th.

Funding to date has been utilised for core administration activities allowing us to improve interaction with more large local sport and health clubs, School and college health and sport teachers plus a range of other local organisations. This groundwork and increased networking at a time when the Borough Council appear to have cut back is important to our community. Some activities planned have had to be placed on hold for a while due to the Covid restrictions but our committee are in discussions regarding other options. Face to face discussions with local clubs have been beneficial to understand their priorities and issues alongside plans to get back to normal and increase participation moving toward 2022.

The past weeks have involved quite a bit of local networking with Sport Leagues and Clubs, Schools and Colleges plus a wide range of organisations within the Basingstoke & Deane Community. This has included contacts involved with areas of deprivation and been assisting with advice, guidance and suggestions for events and suitable contacts etc over the coming months. We are now linked to the teams (Including local NHS/CCG) involved with the local Buckskin, Winklebury and Norden areas. Additionally, maintain awareness of local Community Plans for Buckskin, Kempshott, Marnel, Popley East, South Ham, Winklebury plus Rural Communities and interact where relevant. We have also met with Andover Mind, Tesco's Community Champion, Local Health & Fitness Centres and other organisations to discuss our work and potential partnerships over the project period. We are also in regular interaction with Energise Me Hampshire and keep up to date with the countless Sport and Health websites to pass on information and updates on Sport & Health initiatives into our community via social media and strongly encourage interaction. Local Sport and Health opportunities and information circulated by email to all local school sport teachers in relation to the Easter holidays.

Basingstoke Croquet Club wish to increase awareness and gain new members (Especially older) which BVSC will assist with over the coming months.

Our bi-monthly newsletter reaching 600 plus local sporting contacts within clubs and schools etc was issued in April and daily Facebook posts continue to promote sport and health activities, opportunities and grants locally. Additionally, our website is being maintained providing relevant information to Leagues, Clubs and individuals within Basingstoke & Deane on Sport & Health. Alongside the Olympics we have encouraged the local Sporting community to use the opportunity to promote themselves. Initiatives including the Olympic ‘Festival of Sport’ in August plus the ongoing Sport England ‘This Girl Can’ campaign have been promoted. Also, we are in discussions with the local Gazette and Observer newspapers to have regular articles relating to sport and health to keep its profile up. This should aid networking, partnerships, awareness and increased participation in sport, health, volunteering, officiating and coaching etc.

Unfortunately, our planned Sport twinning ‘Festival of Sport’ with German town Euskirchen had to be cancelled for 2021 due to severe flooding in their area plus the ongoing Covid restrictions and greatly increased costs.

> Update Report Q2 – June 26th 2021 to September 25th 2021 <

We have continued to increase interaction with the local Basingstoke & Deane community and funding to date has been utilised for core administration activities allowing us to improve interaction with more large local sport and health clubs, School and college health and sport teachers plus a range of other local organisations. This groundwork and increased networking at a time when the Borough Council have cut back on staffing and funding support is so important to our community. Our Expenses are being managed by our Treasurer via Expense claims submitted against our initial budget and grant awarded with a final summary submitted at project end.

The past few months have involved increased local networking with Sport Leagues and Clubs, Schools and Colleges plus a wide range of organisations within the Basingstoke & Deane Community. This has included contacts involved with areas of deprivation and been assisting with advice, guidance and suggestions for events and suitable contacts etc over the coming months. We are now linked to the teams (Including local NHS/CCG) involved with the Buckskin, Winklebury and Norden areas). We are also in regular interaction with Energise Me Hampshire and keep up to date with the countless Sport and Health websites to pass on information to our community via social media and strongly encourage interaction. ‘We Can Be Active’ Hampshire initiative publicised via social media to local sporting community and schools encouraging them to be part of it.

Focus meetings have been undertaken to fully understand the status of some clubs locally. Discussions have included updates on membership and running issues during Covid, club status and ambitions, links with schools, requirements for additional facilities, members, coaching, officials and volunteers. These positive meetings included Basingstoke Gymnastics Club, Bluefins Swimming, Basingstoke Town Football, Hockey & Rugby Clubs, Loddon Vale Indoor Bowling, Basingstoke Lawn Bowls, Basingstoke Volleyball plus Totally Tennis. The Sports Council committee met on 26th July to discuss project progress.

Our bi-monthly online newsletter reaching 600 plus local sporting contacts within clubs and schools etc was issued in June and September and daily Facebook posts continue to promote sport and health activities, opportunities and funding locally.

With Covid restrictions hopefully being relaxed a lot we hope to be able to meet and interact with partners to continually raise the profile of ‘Basingstoke Get Active’ and where possible encourage more and more people to Get Active. We will take photos where appropriate and of course acknowledge Sovereign wherever possible.

Funding to date has been utilised for core administration activities allowing us to improve interaction with more large local sport and health clubs, School and college health and sport teachers plus a range of other local organisations. This groundwork and increased networking at a time when the Borough Council have cut back on staffing and funding support is important to our community.

> Update Report Q3 – September 26th 2021 to December 25th 2021 <

Bi-monthly newsletter was issued in December and daily Facebook posts continue to promote sport and health activities, opportunities and funding locally. Our mailing lists include over 600 key people involved with sport, health and school activities locally and we are currently looking to improve our social media presence locally. The Olympics were a focal point enabling us to promote associated local sport and clubs plus encouraged the local Sporting community to use the opportunity to promote themselves. This type of activity will be repeated in 2022 relating to the Commonwealth Games. We also continue to encourage Women and Girls to Get Active in Sport via the ongoing Sport England ‘This Girl Can’ campaign. Additionally, we continue to improve networking, partnerships, awareness and increased participation in sport, health, volunteering, officiating and coaching etc.

Regular meetings or contact maintained with local Leagues, Clubs and Schools to continually raise awareness of the need for keeping healthy and involved in Sport Clubs. At a time when our Borough Council are restricted with staff and resources, we are important to our community and have a meeting with the council to review partnerships moving forward and past 2022. Kickboxing community contacted to raise awareness of various initiatives. The Sports Council committee met on 25th October to discuss project progress.

A local company D&B Facades were impressed and supportive of our work in the community and have recently donated £2,500 to this project to increase our funding and scope over the coming year.

We have had a range of additional meetings with local Sporting Organisations to continually raise the profile of ‘Basingstoke Get Active’ and where possible continually encourage more and more people to Get Active. Also, our voluntary committee maintain interaction locally with clubs and some have been assisting with local school sport initiatives. Early in 2022 we intend to improve interaction with the Borough Council Health & Wellbeing team plus Basingstoke Voluntary Action’s Strategic partnerships.

Commonwealth Games 2022 - Interaction with Schools Sport Co-ordinator (Phil Jeffs) during December ’21 in relation to proposed Commonwealth Games Legacy School sport initiative planned for July 2022 hopefully at QMC in July.

Proposed to have open event at Queen Marys College with sport clubs attending and be able to have a static stand promoting themselves and also some demonstrations where members are available. Will need plenty of promotion so need to work on a timetable plus include social media, Press, Local Radio, Basingstoke Voluntary Action, BDBC Energise Me and maybe even Face TV. Also need to consider schools promotion to pupil families further down the line. There are various Twitter links we can utilise including - #basingstokegetactive, #thisgirlcan, #getinspired, #sportvolunteering, #healthylifestyle, #womeninsport, #schoolsport etc.  Sports Council to deal with clubs and Co-ordinator deal with schools ?  

> Update Report Q4 – December 26th 2021 to March 25th 2022 <

Our Facebook page continues to be updated normally on a daily basis with information relevant to the local Sport & Health community. This originates from a wide range of sources and is also summarised on our bi-monthly newsletter which is distributed to over 630 local contacts for onward circulation and promotion in December 21 and February 22. Topics during this period have included - ‘We Can Week’ aimed at Children, Energise Me training courses, 2022 Winter Olympics, Basingstoke Get Active, This Girl Can, Volunteering, Coaching & Officiating, Local Lottery scheme, Strategic Partnership Opportunities, Open Sport Sessions, Club Matters - developing your Club, Connect to Support, Sport England Funding, German Twinning Festival of Sport plus developing Club and School sporting links. Additionally, achievements of both local clubs and individuals have been recognised.

Ongoing discussions continue with various local partners to better understand local requirements and interactions required to improve interactions and delivery. This includes the Borough Council, Basingstoke Voluntary Action, Hampshire Football Association (Fed back with a range of issues on the Playing pitch strategy for B&D) and a range of Sporting organisations including Energise Me. Sport and Health information and promotional posters have been displayed in our local Tesco plus circulated to School and Community Centre notice boards.

Further face to face meetings with a range of local clubs including Basingstoke Town FC and Bison Junior Ice Hockey regarding increasing School links have been undertaken. This has been to understand their current needs, assist with promotion, interact with local schools, pass on relevant information and discuss actions and initiatives for 2022 including utilising major sporting events as catalyst promotions including the Commonwealth Games, Football World Cup, Tour De France, Wimbledon etc. Bluewave Taekwondo looking to increase interaction with local schools and local Karate Clubs are looking to promote #Thisgirlcan initiative whilst Basingstoke Bluefins Swimming and Wessex Wyvern Modern Pentathlon Club are looking to get more coaches, involved more with local schools and also promoting the #Thisgirlcan initiative. Also, discussion with Hampshire Football Association regarding Girls Football and #Thisgirlcan. Various club sport posters circulated to schools to raise awareness of opportunities prior to school half term.

Basingstoke Taekwondo made contact asking for a range of information which was supplied and the new club added to our club listings and mailings. Basingstoke & Mid Hants Athletics updated on activities and plans for 2022 and confirmed planned promotion of various initiatives during 2022.

Basingstoke Kickboxing and Martial Arts clubs requested to promote and tag #thisgirlcan success for Girls and Women participating in sport and to encourage others and focussed on schoolchildren. Additionally, utilise the Birmingham Commonwealth Games this Summer to promote local related sport plus other events to link to local sport locally including Volunteers Week (1st - 7th June), UK Coaching Week (7th - 13th June) & School Sports Week (18th - 24th June).

Also, promoted that there are two good websites to promote club volunteering requirements being the local Volunteer North Hants site co-ordinated locally by Basingstoke Voluntary Action. Also, the Do It volunteer role advertising website. Additionally, Open Sessions allows clubs to reach new audiences and potentially access thousands of potential new participants local to you. Post your session once (Daily, Weekly, Ad Hoc etc) and it will be shown on multiple activity finder websites. It's absolutely free with no charges, no subscription and no hassle. Very few local clubs are currently utilising this FREE resource currently so we are trying to encourage utilisation. Finally, the BBC Get Inspired website is useful to link to your website if not done so already for club promotion maybe via your website.

During the recent couple of months, we have been continuing to work with local partners to improve Health & Wellbeing in local areas of depravation including sporting activities. This includes interaction with local community centres and schools. Additionally, we have recently been assisting a local organisation working with refugees based in Basingstoke to get out and get active locally again with local partner organisations. The Sports Council committee met on 10th January to discuss project progress.

> Update Report Q5 – March 26th 2022 to June 25th 2022 <

Our Facebook page continues to be updated normally on a daily basis with information relevant to the local Sport & Health community. Promoted ‘We Can Be Active’ initiative & Activity Finder again on social media and in our Newsletter issued in May being championed by Energise Me Hampshire as links nicely with our ‘Basingstoke Get Active’ initiative. 

30 Facebook posts in April gaining a reach of 2,922 with a wide range of posts covering local sports and clubs, Hampshire Outdoor Centres, Leisure in Basingstoke, Commonwealth Games, World Health Day, Sport England, Sports Funding and Get Active etc.

39 Facebook posts in May gaining a reach of 5,361 again with a wide range of posts covering local sports and clubs, Learning to Swim, German Festival of Sport, Fundraising, Safeguarding Children, Volunteers Week, Club Matters Information, This Girl Can, Outdoor Activities, Creating Healthy Habits, We Can Be Active and Strengthening Communities etc.

46 Facebook posts in June gaining a reach of 5,219 with posts including communicating Healthy Heart Tips. Better Health, Sport and Mental Wellbeing, Health Checks, Get Active, Healthy Lifestyles, Volunteering & Coaching, Various Sports Clubs, Schools Sport, Parkrun plus Energy Food and Drink etc

Basingstoke Bluefins Swimming membership and success continues to increase and had Jubilee celebration event with over 200 swimmers attending. Most squads are almost full, and now trialling only once a month now as opposed to weekly.  Basingstoke Kickboxing have planned a summer camp and are also organising some interclub events to get more nervous kids / adults ready for the competing world. Other two Kickboxing clubs have increased membership and a busy Summer of activities and competitions planned.

This Girl Can promotions linked to local sports and clubs including Athletics, Swimming, Hockey, Cricket, Rugby, Martial Arts, Table Tennis & Waterpolo. Clubs and schools encouraged to organise and promote activities during Easter Spring Holiday

Sports Council representative attended and contributed to Basingstoke Health & Wellbeing Partnership meeting and Full Sports Council committee meeting held on May 11th to discuss future promotions and activities plus partnership with BDBC.

Update Report Q6 – June 26th 2022 to September 25th 2022 <

Our bi-monthly newsletter (Issued in August) and daily Facebook posts continue to promote sport and health activities and opportunities locally. 33 July Facebook posts receiving a reach of 5,106 included promotion of Basingstoke Voluntary Action, Overton, Tadley, Chineham & Basingstoke Rugby Clubs, Park Run, Tadley Runners, Totally Tennis, Bluefins Swimming & Waterpolo, Basingstoke Athletic, Hockey & Cricket Clubs, Hatch Warren Junior Football, Su-Ha-Ri Karate, Cycling Clubs plus #basingstokegetactive, #wecanbeactive and some Grant funding opportunities etc.

56 August Facebook posts receiving a reach of 8,197 included promotion of Energise Me Courses, Club Matters Information, Volunteering & Coaching, Older People Information. Also Cycling, Walking, Rambling, Petanque, Bluefins Swimming & Waterpolo, Basingstoke Hockey, Rugby, Football, Judo, Dancing, Gymnastics, Korfball, Squash & Racketball plus Taekwondo Clubs and #basingstokegetactive, #wecanbeactive, #thisgirlcan and some Grant funding opportunities etc. Various links to and promotion of the Commonwealth Games, England Ladies Football plus Tour De France Cycling were also circulated as appropriate to raise profile of local related sport clubs.

Direct email or phone calls with Kickboxing regarding formally setting up their organisation and Basingstoke Cycling Group regarding issues with awareness of their organisation locally.

Met with Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council representatives to further discuss Sport and Health partnership activities moving forward after Covid. Funding restrictions making activities difficult and potentially affecting future of BVSC. Proposals discussed with partner organisations and responded to BDBC requesting further discussions. Full Voluntary Sports Council meeting to discuss impact of BDBC strategies and funding decisions moving forward.

Continued interaction with BDBC regarding the revised ‘Health & Wellbeing Strategy’ for Basingstoke & Deane especially regarding Sport, Club to School links and Health in the Community. Sports Council full committee meeting held to update members and discuss way forward. It was provisionally agreed that with the lack of ongoing funding, reserves would be utilised to continue with Get Active promotions and activities until Autumn 2024.

Additionally, discussions held with BDBC regarding School Sport / School Premium Funding utilisation. Consideration given regarding how to improve Sports Club and School links to support the Borough Council Health & Wellbeing strategy. Sporting updates emailed to Sports department at Queen Mary’s College for information and interaction.

Meeting undertaken with German Twinning club and school representatives to discuss restart of Festival of Sport in Germany during June 2023. This event allows more youngsters to get active and experience the social and educational benefits of staying with German Clubs, Schools and families. Hopefully the event can be restarted in June 2023.

Updated sport and Health promotional posters given to local Tesco Superstore for a full window display linked to local sports involved in the Commonwealth Games. The Sports Council committee met on 25th July to discuss project progress.

Promoted details of the upgraded Basingstoke Voluntary Action website aimed at the B&D Community with a range of new services available. Have also requested a meeting with them to improve interaction with the Sports Community and ‘future proof’ support plus interaction. 

Ongoing discussions with Basingstoke & Deane Cycling Forum

> Update Report Q7– September 26th 2022 to December 31st 2022 <

Continued interaction with BDBC regarding the revised ‘Health & Wellbeing Strategy’ for Basingstoke & Deane especially regarding Sport, Club to School links and Health in the Community. Sports Council full committee meeting held to update members and discuss way forward. It was provisionally agreed that with the lack of ongoing funding, reserves would be utilised to continue with Get Active promotions and activities until Autumn 2024.

Additionally, discussions held with BDBC regarding School Sport / School Premium Funding utilisation. Consideration given regarding how to improve Sports Club and School links to support the Borough Council Health & Wellbeing strategy. Sporting updates emailed to Sports department at Queen Mary’s College for information and interaction.

Direct email or phone calls with Basingstoke College of Technology regarding involvement in Community Sport, Junior Parkrun regarding potential links with local schools and Basingstoke Petanque Club regarding promotion of their club and sport locally.

Promoted details of the upgraded Basingstoke Voluntary Action website aimed at the B&D Community with a range of new services available. Have also requested a meeting with them to improve interaction with the Sports Community and ‘future proof’ support plus interaction. 

Our bi-monthly newsletter issued in October and daily Facebook posts continue to promote sport and health activities plus opportunities locally. 61 September Facebook posts receiving a reach of 9,742 included promotion of plus #basingstokegetactive, #wecanbeactive and some Grant funding opportunities etc. Additionally, promotion of local sport opportunities including clubs interacted with.

52 October Facebook posts receiving a reach of 7,423 again promoting #basingstokegetactive and local clubs available, Older People in Sport, School Sport, Fundraising opportunities, Sports for Mental Health, Unsung Hero Awards, need for and benefit of Coaches, Official and Volunteers in Sport, #ThisGirlCan encouraging women into sport etc. 

70 November Facebook posts receiving a reach of 11,713

55 December Facebook posts receiving a reach of 8,042

Project Funding should last until Spring 2023 and then potentially utilise BVSC Reserves

Draft Report last updated 31st December 2022 - Remaining reports to be updated by July 31st 2024

> Update Report Q8 – January 1st to March 31st 2023 <

> Update Report Q9 - April 1st to June 30th 2023 <

> Update Report Q10 - July 1st to September 30th 2023 <

> Update Report Q11 - October 1st to December 31st 2023 <

> Update Report Q12 - January 1st to March 31st 2024 <

> Update Report Q13 - April 1st to June 30th 2024 <

> Update Report Q14 - July 1st to September 30th 2024 <

Contact Sports Council Chairman Kevin Laing via basvsc@outlook.com / 07796 491667 with any queries